Trance Journey Diary:

So last night I made an unexpected trip–to Asgard of all places. It was about 8:30 last night when I had a rushed feeling, a pressure building up, a sense that I really needed to take a journey. Now.  As I was not in the middle of anything else, I followed up on that feeling and here is what happened…

I got the understanding that I didn’t have “time” to take a full shower so I cleaned up a bit– brushed teeth, washed face, feet, and hands so I didn’t feel distracted by any bodily dirt.  I then proceeded to put on my silver bear claw necklace (awesomely made by my talented friend Cindy, author of “The Dreaming Wood” blog), grab my rune set of bear phalanges, and [lightly] slather myself in Lawless’s Henbane ointment, astral travel oil, Yggdrasil oil, and Saining oil.  Yeah. Lots of oils. I wasn’t sure how they’d mix and I was alone in my apartment so I was being relatively careful…I wanted the extra entheogenic push because I figured that if this trip was that important I might be there awhile and sure enough…I was right!

First things first. Draw a rune.  Mannaz.  Yep, I’m not going to be alone on this journey…

Lay back down.  Damn.  Too much henbane? I’m unfocused, having trouble piercing through the worlds.  Cast a bindrune.  An intricate combination of elhaz, wunjo, and naudhiz [made up on the spot…not sure if others have used that combination of runes for similar effect]. It phased me through with no problem and I ended up at the base of Yggdrasil itself where my fetch was waiting for me.  We greeted one another and I found out the hard way that solar energy in super concentrated form is not a very digestible offering for one’s fetch–don’t worry, he wasn’t harmed, it was more like he had indigestion.  He also bit me in impatience because we had places to go and people to see and apparently he was keeping a much tighter schedule than I was.

I climbed onto his back and we set off at a breakneck pace at a 45 degree angle.  As we’d never traveled this way before I was a little apprehensive.  We also got a bit too close to a “no fly zone” near Asgard and we totally got a warning arrow over our shoulders.  Nice of them not to shoot to kill, right?  I of course start freaking out and asking if we’re supposed to be going to Asgard and if so, why didn’t I know about it earlier, I could have brought some nice gifts, etc. etc. For the first time. Ever. The bear spoke to me out loud.  A baritone voice said, “It’s not that kind of visit”. Eeesh, that sounded ominous. So I suggested that we head over to Bifröst if that led to where we needed to go.  The Bear gave me a look that said “I’m sure you could find a shortcut” but after what happened in Svartalfheim and because I’d have Heimdall to answer to (plus, who wants to be know as that “girl who trespasses all the time”?) I quickly ended that train of thought.

The Bear took me to the base of Bifröst and I stared at it for awhile.  Yes, it is a rainbow, but a very odd one.  For me it was iridescent glittering mist in a permanent prism of colors.  Seemingly as insubstantial as a cloud.  We took a moment to adjust to it and I had a feeling that our intentions were being tested.  It was decided (by Heimdall or the bridge itself I am not sure) that we indeed “had business” in Asgard.  Up we went.  The mist of bridge coalesced under the feet of the Bear for brief moments only as he tore up this path.  I was holding on for dear life and leaning forward to keep my balance–it felt like ascending a super high roller-coaster.  The Bear never slowed down and I got the feeling that one does not dither on Bifröst lest they tumble or slide off with unpleasant consequences.  I urgently wanted to be off the bridge as soon as possible and the gate of Asgard was a welcome sight–it jutted out toward the bridge, looking like small floating continent.  As we stepped off the bridge, Heimdall stood before me and stared intensely at us.  I bowed my head and greeted Him.  I felt Him “scan” me and gruffly let me in.  He had a brilliant white-gold shine to Him that hurt to look upon for any length of time. The Bear and I quickly moved on.  We followed a large stream further into Asgard for quite awhile…it flowed past meadows and trees and emptied into a small lake at the edge of a clearing.  The Bear stopped and indicated that I should dismount. “Wait here,” was all that he said before disappearing.

I was fidgety and nervous and sat down on the grass.  I realized that my panicked feeling wasn’t going to be helpful so I took some deep breaths and calmed myself.  Was I ready? Yes. Cue urge to turn around.  It was Odin…wearing hunting leathers. So…unexpected. He was amused at my surprise and snapped his fingers to change his appearance to the dark grey/blue/black cloak and long robe that I’d encountered him in before.  His cloak reminds me of the color of darkest storm cloud…and I have come to the conclusion that I really identify with the energy in his “Storm” aspect..he is Thor’s father after all! The two of us had our long overdue talk in that glade for what happened to be an hour in real time, but I was not really aware of time in Asgard. In that time we talked “business”, set some some parameters, and he imparted just a taste of his vast knowledge.  As He plainly said to me, “words are binding,” and I’d made a promise to him that he was not going to let slide for any longer.  “Sacrifice bears a gift” was also stated..knowing the double-meaning of the word “gift”, [“poison”] there is much to be gained but also much to endure…and thus this adventure unfolds…

