In honor of the dark moon, and to fulfill a promise made to Hermes Khthonios and Askalaphus, I have made my offerings to each of them tonight.  Tonight my intuition told me to do things a bit differently than I normally do.  Instead of taking my usual shower like I would often do before rituals, I had an urge to scrub my hands with salt and water instead…after that was done, and the entire ritual area had been cleaned up and wiped down, I proceeded to gather my supplies.  Offerings of incense and honeyed milk for Hermes, and a shot of Death’s Door gin again for Askalaphus.  I did not light a candle for Them as I normally would, and instead of speaking, I wrote my petitions and thanks out on pieces of paper and folded them up underneath the glasses of liquid offerings.  I did not pour out libations as I am doing this rite in my apartment and cannot dig a trench or tip the glasses over on to the ground directly.  Instead I will leave the liquids in the glass for Them to partake of at Their leisure before disposing of them outside.  Not as ideal as I would have liked, but apartment living comes with its own challenges…and nosy neighbors watching you ritual in the courtyard area isn’t my idea of sacred space…

I also left a little glass jar of water for the Dead on the altar.  Traditionally, the Dead were offered water, wine, consecrated blood, milk, oil, or honey (or honeyed milk or water).  In lieu of wine, I felt that honeyed milk, as drink of the gods and the Dead, was appropriate libation for shining Hermes Argeiphontes.  Astragalomancy with a sheep’s anklebone confirmed the acceptance of the offering and indicated a positive outcome to my query.  There was a noticeable burden lifted from me as the ritual drew to a close…I know now that I have missed my smaller rites at home and desperately need to revive them to feel more balanced in my day-to-day life.

Something important has been set in motion and will take another month to reveal itself fully…the suspense will be the end of me!

PS–Pomba Gira’s altar is close by where I was ritualing.  I knew She’d feel left out somehow so I lit her red rose-scented candle and was going to find some rum for Her.  Instead, She totally asked for some of the gin I’d offered to Askalaphus.  I think She was curious and wanted to try it, so I poured her a shot.  Gin isn’t traditionally Her “drink”, but just like us, I think the gods like to mix it up from time to time…

